The Vulture Chicken

Beware.

The Vulture Chicken.

I have thought, since the day the Animal Whisperer brought home this free egg laying creature, that it was really ugly.

It is. 

It’s just plain ugly.  Period.

He does not agree.

These girls DO agree.

Although, they chose a different name to describe the creature:

The Vulture Chicken.

The new name was exposed in the milking room…as many things are.  That is where I learn that the man milking my goat is a neurosurgeon.  Or the woman milking is a Health Inspector. 

Or, that my chicken has been named, The Vulture Chicken.

Mind you though, at the time, I had no idea of whom they were speaking.

Me:  “Which one?”

Them:  “The one without a head!”

(Pretend you’re me and make this picture appear in your mind:  That one of the headless chickens I slaughtered last week came back to life.  Kinda freaks you out for a second, right?)

(I know, absurd.)

(But, that’s how my mind works.)

Me:  “WHICH one???”  (long, screeching emphasis on which.)

Them:  “The one with no neck.  And it’s beak is huge and sticks out of its feathers.”

Me:  “OOOOHHHHHHH!!!!!  The UGLY one!!”  (realize my horror story nightmare was just that.  A nightmare.  No headless dead chickens running around.  Phew.)

So that did it.  I had to inspect.  Despite the fact that my student’s toes were nearing icicle stage, I did not release them to the house after milking…I made them endure the photo session and my inspection of the Vulture Chicken.

They were right.  And this photo makes it look far too pretty.

 –  The, Briefly Traumatized, Goat Cheese Lady

About The Goat Cheese Lady

I am Lindsey. I am an urban farmgirl attempting to balance city and farm life. I make cheese. I milk goats. I am married to the Animal Whisperer, man of exceptional knowledge and patience, I have two boys who are louder than my sister and I ever were, two big dogs, a few milking goats, some egg laying chickens and rabbits. Coyotes, rattlesnakes, deer, bear, and bobcats are frequent visitors. Just around the corner is the city. The pool. Yoga. The neighborhood friends. But we...and our farm...are hidden...by the rocks.
This entry was posted in Farm Life. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Vulture Chicken

  1. Madz says:

    I think she is absolutely gorgeous.
    An amazing example of her breed(which could be a EE or French mix?).

    I would be proud as a peacock to have her in my coop!

  2. Melina says:

    I’ll take her!

Leave a Reply

