My Cousin, Don

I got a call out of the blue today.

From my second cousin once removed, or my first cousin twice removed or something like that.  Anyway, my cousin.

I rarely talk to Don.  But if typical conversations with him go like the one today, I should definitely do it more often.  If laughter is good medicine, I’ll never get the 24 hour flu again!

It went something like this (inserting laughter between each sentence.  So much laughter that your face starts to hurt):

D:  “Lindsey, this is your second cousin Don.  I had heard through the grapevine something about you and goats and I’m sittin’ here reading my Cheyenne Edition and the Goat Cheese Lady is in there!  I called Aunt Ann and she said YES! you’ve got a crabapple pie and your thumb on the internet!” 

Me:  “Yep, that’s me!” (says she humbly)

D:  “You know, I’m not quite sure how I feel about being related to the Goat Cheese Lady.  I’m still dealing with that, you know.”

Me:  “I’ll keep it under wraps that we’re even related.”

D:  “I mean, do you even get to go skiing?  Or do you have to get a special goat babysitter or something?”

Me:  “We have to get a special baby sitter.  But family’s the best kind.  I’ll let you know   when we need you.”

D:  “No way!  I’ll be skiing!”

And on and on and on.

It’s hard to relate in writing just how funny the conversation was, but my cheeks are still sore thinking about it.

Don (still fondly referred to by me, since childhood, as Donnie) is one of those people who laughs while he talks.  And, he laughs hysterically at whatever you say, making you think you are really funny.

Now that’s the guy you want around.  He makes you think you’re funny and makes you laugh the entire time you’re in his presence.

Thanks for making my day, Donnie, and I’ll let you know when we need some manure shoveled.  I can make it during a weekday so you won’t be skiing.

- Your Cuz, The Goat Cheese Lady

(NEWSFLASH:  To all of the members of AdAmAn, Don is related to the Goat Cheese Lady.  If he tries to deny it, email me directly.)

About The Goat Cheese Lady

I am Lindsey. I am an urban farmgirl attempting to balance city and farm life. I make cheese. I milk goats. I am married to the Animal Whisperer, man of exceptional knowledge and patience, I have two boys who are louder than my sister and I ever were, two big dogs, a few milking goats, some egg laying chickens and rabbits. Coyotes, rattlesnakes, deer, bear, and bobcats are frequent visitors. Just around the corner is the city. The pool. Yoga. The neighborhood friends. But we...and our farm...are hidden...by the rocks.
This entry was posted in Farm Life. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My Cousin, Don

  1. I’m trying to figure out how keeping “it under wraps that we’re related” equates with blogging about the entire conversation. It must be a generational thing (There’s half a generation separating us). In case anyone is wondering, half a generation equates to approximately ten years. If I thought being related to the goat cheese lady was difficult… actually showing up in her blog is infinitely more challenging. I think I need…. some goat cheese.

Leave a Reply

