I Have Arrived

Not to the red carpet. 

Not to some upper level of social distinction.

And not to any nearby mountain top. 

To Google.

It was a proud day when I could Google myself and I appeared.  Not really ME, but The Goat Cheese Lady.

And, this did not happen instantaneously either.  As a knows-very-little-about-the-internet computer user, I assumed that if you get a website, someone could Google you right away and…find you. 

Not so.  After some unsuccessful self-Googling, I began researching.  How can someone Google “the goat cheese lady” and have me appear? 

Here is where the Googlebot comes in.  Whatever that is.  The Googlebot scans the internet every 3 seconds or every 3 weeks, I have no idea which, and grabs up new websites that weren’t there the last time it scanned.  Apparently, the Googlebot had not grabbed up mine. 

For way longer than I cared to wait. 

I mean, when you’re The Goat Cheese Lady, you have a special group of followers who may, mistakenly type www.thegoatcheeselady.com instead of typing www.thegoatcheeselady.wordpress.com.  Now, that is an understandable mistake.  It would be easier not to have to remember to add .wordpress, but it is necessary, because if you just type www.thegoatcheeselady.com, you’ll get nowhere. 

So that led to a predicament.  All 3 of my loyal followers had to, at some point, Google me, because they had forgotten about the .wordpress part.  But, I didn’t come up.  Not even on the 9,233,210th listing. 

You can see how that can be problematic for business.

So, in my research, I learned I could put my site’s name (called the URL) directly into Google’s records so that the Googlebot would find me sooner rather than later.

I did that.

And, now, I have arrived.

It’s a good day in the life of The Goat Cheese Lady.

-  The Goat Cheese Lady, #5 on Google

About The Goat Cheese Lady

I am Lindsey. I am an urban farmgirl attempting to balance city and farm life. I make cheese. I milk goats. I am married to the Animal Whisperer, man of exceptional knowledge and patience, I have two boys who are louder than my sister and I ever were, two big dogs, a few milking goats, some egg laying chickens and rabbits. Coyotes, rattlesnakes, deer, bear, and bobcats are frequent visitors. Just around the corner is the city. The pool. Yoga. The neighborhood friends. But we...and our farm...are hidden...by the rocks.
This entry was posted in Cheese Making, Farm Life, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I Have Arrived

  1. Dan Stover says:

    Hi Goat Cheese Lady!

    Well, now you have four followers on your site! My wife just signed up for a class with you and we are so excited. We are also city folk that are making our way to the country life. I’ve very much enjoyed reading your blog. We seem to be on the same path with our family and we’re starting our farm blog very soon as well.

    Can’t wait to meet you this weekend!

    -Dan Stover

    PS: I do Website Development and Internet Marketing so we should talk about your blog a bit. Let’s get you up to #1 on Google instead of #5. After all, you are THE “Goat Cheese Lady”!

Leave a Reply

